+Winter Journey 2014

One day of Cape Town’s weather is in itself a winter journey…from the glimpse of the early morning mist(trying to determine what to wear), to a moderate air conditioned mall (where I was to attend a midday winter launch), to the humid afternoon vinos with a good friend, to boisterous laughs cutting through the crisp evening air over dinner with an ex colleague, and ending off with some light drizzle and a winter chill which led my shivering bones homeward bound.  And just like CT’s weather, I had no idea what a wonderful winter journey Stuttafords had in store for me…

My morning began with my ridiculous method of testing the weather, in an attempt to help decifer what to wear(this involves drawing back the curtains, glaring out the window and sticking my finger outside at 10 minute intervals to check the actual temperature as opposed to my cozy room temperature…yeah, I just paused to side eye myself on that one) Eventually, half and hour and 6 outfits later, I decided on my black polo neck jumper, olive green flare skirt, black tights, black cut out boots, silver accessories(including perspex dog tags given to me my a tech buddy, Grant Hinds), tortoise shell “Lennon” shades and tan Rowdy backpack, which I am obsessed with by the way.  No seriously OBSESSED with.  And without rambling on too much about my obsession with backpacks, this particular backpack goes with me everywhere… and I MEAN e-ve-re-where. Where? EVERYWHERE.  The backpack, in my opinion, has to be a stylist’s best friend…it leaves your hands free to juggle clothes swept over one arm, check your phone for emails updates, whilst trying to make sure you have your parking ticket at hand, signed appro forms as well as being able to skillfully manoeuvre your trolley, one handed, through a storm of rails, isles and counters…sooo glamourous the life of a stylist is, right?!  Well every once and a while, the fashion and beauty universe aligns, culminating in a day filled with tasty treats, champers, fashion updates, pampering, and exceptional goodies to take home and indulge in…and the Stuttafords Wintery Journey launch was no exception.

I arrived at Stuttafords Canal Walk, with just enough time for a few familiar and unfamiliar meet and greets and grab a glass of champers before being taken on a journey of men’s and ladies winter 2014 fashion trends, touching on brand aesthetics along the way.  Some of these trends included fair isle, colour blocking and colour bottoms in mustard and forest green from Ted Baker; Gingham checks and sports jackets from Ben Sherman;  flannel shirts from Guess; cuffed bottoms and geometric prints from Adidas; colour turn ups, camo hunter jackets and printed denim oxford shirts from Levis; as well as  a common thread of layered looks(Gilets, jackets, shirts and sweaters) and shades of blues for men.

Mens

Ladies trends included beautifully bright statement melton coats from Ted Baker, studded dressed and biker jackets for a punk chic look from Sissy Boy, as well as over all winter trends such as cut out details; sheer lightweight fabrications such as chiffon; winter pastels; lace details; the midriff; the 50’s flare skirt, bright shift dress and Jackie O jacket belted at the waist; geometric and floral prints; PVC;  and bottoms in skinny leg shapes as well as wider cuffed trousers.

ladies

We were then invited to the upper level, where an array of beauty brand stations were set up for our perusal.

2014-05-19 12.09.58

Lancome, Estee Lauder, La Mer, Bobby Brown, Iman, Kardashian, Guerlain, Sensai and Clarins all treated us to mini beauty pamper sessions.  Mine consisted of an eye treatment, eyeliner touch up and buildable mascara top up from Lancome, a gorgeous natural lip(all over lip pencil in Spice, finished with a light pink  lip gloss) from Estee Lauder, then for a power pout in Iman Luxury moisturising lipstick and some natural contouring with Kardashian bronzer. I then transformed my skin into Kanebo silk using a gorgeous lotion from Sensai(truly luxurious to the touch), had a Guerlain sensory experience(unlike other fragrance brands, you are asked to close your eyes, the fragrance is then spritzed on a feather and fanned gently towards you – which immediately transported me to what I imagined to be a tiny parfum boutique somewhere Paris) and illuminated my skin with Clarins care regime.  I was also treated to a mini tutorial on the amazing multi purpose Art stick from Bobby Brown(which can be used as a lip liner, lip stick or blush…HELLO!) and finally finished off with the piece de resistance…a hand massage from La Mer! I meeeean, what more could a girl ask for…well*glances upwards*, if I HAD to ask, these would be the top 10 items on my wishlist:

Beauty

  1. Lancome Genifique Yeux Pearl(Eye illuminating youth activating concentrate)
  2. Estee Lauder Double wear lip pencil in Spice
  3. Kardashian Out to there Mascara in Raven Black
  4. Kardashian Beauty honey lip gloss in Natural
  5. Kardashian Beauty high IQ gel noir eyeliner
  6. Kardashian Cabana waterproof bronzer
  7. Bobby Brown Art stick in Cassis and Bright Raspberry
  8. Sensai Cellular Performance intensive hand treatment
  9. Guerlin anything…
  10. La Mer everything!

And so as my midday pamper session drew to a close, each station gifting me with product teasers, I was given ANOTHER gift bag containing gifts from various clothing and accessory brands(Hurley, Ben Sherman, Anna Scott, MinkPink) as well as fragrances from Prada, Bvlgari, Hugo Boss, Jean Paul Gaultier, Prada, Elie Saab, Lacoste…*eek…and EEK again!* But for me, I have to say my heart skipped a beat when I as handed this beauty…

Pictures3

A brand new Adidas backpack to add to my collection!!! *hugs backpack, loves backpack, new bestiepack*

So next time you’re in Canal Walk, step into Stuttafords for a truly fabulous Winter journey through a world of brands…but untill then…what is a girl to do with all this baggage?!

2014-05-20 13.32.002 - Copy

2014-05-20 06.12.11

+…for the love of fashion+

+BGLDY+

 

 

Leave a Reply

